We teamed up with PIP to provide important information on understanding the new ANSI standards for cut resistance.

What you need to Know about the new ANSI cut standards.

New Cut Levels

The new edition of the ANSI/ISEA 105 standard includes new classification levels. The new scale replaces the old one and provides new ANSI cut scores that better represent how much stress gloves can take. The 2016 revision expands the levels of cut resistance to 9.

New Cut Levels Chart, Courtesy of PIP!


Why The Changes

As new technologies and yarns are developed, performance of cut resistant gloves have improved.  The previous scale of 1-5 did not provide enough information to workers on how much stress a glove could take. For example, the old cut level 4 classification includes 1500-3500 grams of cut resistance, creating potential insufficient use of PPE. The new cut level A4 includes 1500-2199 grams of cut resistance.

New Testing Methods

The new ANSI/ISEA 105 standard also outlines new testing methods. Prior to 2016 The ANSI/ISEA standard used the F1790-05 test method for determining a gloves level of cut resistance. The testing was conducted on two machines, either the TDM-100 or the CPPT. The impact of using two different machines complicated the process of making accurate comparisons between various products. For example, when using a CPPT tester, cut resistance values obtained using ASTM F1790-05 are typically lower than the values obtained for the same sample using ASTM F1790-97. This is primarily because the 2005 method does not require the blade to cut through the mounting tape to register a results. The new standard ensures uniform testing with one machine. Using one machine provides greater accuracy when testing samples.


Click Here For More Information On Cut Standards and Testing


Each glove below offers unique cut resistant solutions that are applicable across an array of industries.